Butter-fly keeps popping up in my head lately and I’ve always wanted to spend some time trying to figure out what it really was. Even though I’ve learnt some Japanese, at the back of my mind it’s still the gibberish my cousins and I used to sing when it came on the television. Except for the part that went “on my love”. That was when we all knew what we were doing.

This song just gives me the feels every time it comes on and reminds me of my childhood heaps. The tri. version only differs from the original in terms of musical arrangements but I love how they’ve given it a modern feel without taking too much from the original sound. I’m sure the translations out there have gone through many edits, but I thought I’d try putting my own out there and giving a slightly different take on things.

Well, that’s enough rambling so here it is, my translation of Butter-fly!

Song Title: Butter-fly
Music: Ikō Chiwata
Arrangements: Cher Watanabe

Vocals: Kōji Wada

Stayしがちなイメージだらけの
頼りない翼でも きっと飛べるさ
On My Love

Even though this image tends to stay
Even if these wings are unreliable, I’m sure that they’ll fly
On My Love

ゴキゲンな蝶になって きらめく風に乗って
今すぐ キミに会いに行こう
余計な事なんて 忘れた方がマシさ
これ以上 シャレてる時間はない

I’ll be a spirited butterfly and ride this sparkling wind
And go right now to meet you
It’s better not to think about unnecessary things
From now on there’ll be no time to act cool

何が wow wow~ この空に届くのだろう
だけど wow wow~ 明日の予定もわからない

I wonder wow wow~ will I be able to reach the sky?
But wow wow~ I don’t even know what my plans for tomorrow are

無限大な夢のあとの 何もない世の中じゃ
そうさ愛しい 想いも負けそうになるけど
Stayしがちなイメージだらけの
頼りない翼でも きっと飛べるさ
On My Love

At the end of this unlimited dream is the real world which contains nothing
That’s right, my love, it seems my feelings might lose but
Even though this image tends to stay
Even if these wings are unreliable, I’m sure that they’ll fly
On my love

ウカレタ蝶になって 一途な風に乗って
どこまでも キミに会いに行こう
曖昧な言葉って 意外に便利だって
叫んでる ヒットソング聴きながら

I’ll be a merry butterfly and ride on this earnest wind
Wherever you are, I’ll go to see you
These words I can’t make out are surprisingly convenient
I can simply scream out while listening to this hit song

何が wow wow~ この街に響くのだろう
だけど wow wow~ 期待してても仕方ない

I wonder wow wow~ if it will echo through this city
But wow wow~ even if I have my hopes up I can’t do anything about it

無限大な夢のあとの やるせない世の中じゃ
そうさ常識 ハズレも悪くはないから
Stayしそうなイメージを染めた
ぎこちない翼でも きっと飛べるさ
On My Love

At the end of this unlimited dream is the disconsolate real world
That’s right, common sense, there’s nothing wrong with disappointment
Having been dyed by this image that seems to stay
Even if the movement of these wings feel unnatural, I’m sure they’ll fly
On My Love

無限大な夢のあとの 何もない世の中じゃ
そうさ愛しい 想いも負けそうになるけど
Stayしがちなイメージだらけの
頼りない翼でも きっと飛べるさ
Oh Yeah~

At the end of this unlimited dream is the real world which contains nothing
That’s right, my love, it seems my feelings might lose but
Even though this image tends to stay
Even if these wings are unreliable, I’m sure that they’ll fly
Oh Yeah~

無限大な夢のあとの やるせない世の中じゃ
そうさ常識 ハズレも悪くはないから
Stayしそうなイメージを染めた
ぎこちない翼でも きっと飛べるさ
On My Love

At the end of this unlimited dream is the disconsolate real world
That’s right, common sense, there’s nothing wrong with disappointment
Having been dyed by this image that seems to stay
Even if the movement of these wings feel unnatural, I’m sure they’ll fly
On My Love

Japanese lyrics re-typed from: http://www.kasi-time.com/item-77750.html

Please credit and let me know if you’ve used my translation anywhere. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

