A LIEBSTER AWARD? WHAT? NO WAY!

liebsteraward11

I got a nomination from Nic and Eustacia, two of my best blogger friends and friends in real life. I’m quite sure I blog a lot of rubbish and just randomly blurt out my thoughts most of the time but thank you for always encouraging me to write. I feel a bit more motivated whenever I get an e-mail notification saying you’ve written a new post and it’s a constant reminder to me that I should write more. Hopefully I’ll become a better writer over time.

Thank you also to whoever reads my blog, remembering I exist and tolerating my nonsense. If you still drop by to look at old song lyrics I’ve transcribed or even translated, I’m glad it’s been of some help.

The word “Liebster” is german for “dear” or “beloved”. Can’t say this is an extremely prestigious award or anything but I definitely feel dear at the moment.

I don’t have many friends who still blog so although Nic kindly said I don’t have to nominate people, I’ll start by sharing the blogs of my nominators:

Manga, my life – The blog of an otaku. Contains reviews of mangas, animes and experiences at conventions. Check it out if you’re into such things!

With Love from Japan, Eustacia – The personal blog of an international student in Japan. She has over 1200 followers and it’s no wonder – she writes so well!

Some other friends’ websites that are currently alive and well:

Dreaming Through the Noise – A personal blog but if you search for old posts, you’ll also find beauty product recommendations and even a post on how to make sunblock from one of the smartest perfumery students out there.

Light of Goshen – Well thought out and researched articles regarding Christian viewpoints on current issues. A good way to expand your knowledge and have a bit of a think over important national (Singapore) and global issues.

Treading Bravely – A personal and reflective blog that always goes back to God. Also some lovely photos as she is an excellent photographer and designer!

I might decide to give questions later but I don’t think it’s necessary especially since this is pretty chain letter like and won’t suit everyone’s blog.

Pretty excited about this because it’s a happy post. Now that all the formalities are out of the way, I can finally get started!

1. What kind of music do you listen to?

OPs/EDs of anime I’m into at the moment on replay (seriously loving “Sugar Song and Bitter Step” by UNISON SQUARE GARDEN). Love Honeyworks and hope that I’ll have a free day soon to just sit down and go through the various songs I haven’t heard and learn them.

2. Is there a certain trend to the kind/type of characters you like in a story? (looks, personality, background etc.?)

When I’m reading books, I usually like the catalysts or side characters, people who get things going in a story. On the other hand, in mangas or animes, about 80% of the time I like the blonde haired guy. Surely there is a certain personality that goes with such characters. The weird ones? It’s usually true as long as they’re not the proud ore-sama type.
Yeah, I’m probably the one who’s weird.

3. What other interests do you have besides what you write about on your blog?

I actually have a lot of interests because I get bored easily and like to switch between tasks. When I have free time I like to do voice stuff like sing, or try to create or imitate a character’s voice. Otherwise, I’m usually interested in just lazing in bed 😛

4. Have you been to any sort of theatre production/stage show before? If so, what was it/were they?

I was thinking, “Does from Eve to Mary count?” and realised Eustacia typed the exact same thing! Oh but now that I’m re-reading the question it says “been to”. I watched Chicago, Love Never Dies when it first came out in Melbourne, Wicked (which I would watch again!) and Les Miserables (another awesome one). There was also a local one in Singapore which I unfortunately don’t remember the title to because I went when I was quite young.
In university, I went for two productions by the Chinese Musical Group (CMG?) in separate years. Not as bad as I thought and they had subtitles which helped me a lot.

5. If you could choose one superpower to possess, what would it be and why?

I always thought it would be cool to time travel because you’d get to see what happened and actually be there for big events. So little time and so many things to do but now I’m getting lazier and lazier by the day and find myself wishing I could teleport from place to place. It didn’t seem too bad when I was in Melbourne but the weather in Singapore is terrible and the sun burns throughout the year so teleportation FTW!

6. Do you consider yourself an introvert, extrovert, or a mix in different situations?

I always thought that I could be a mix but now I’m certain that I am an introvert. I can be an “extrovert” if for work purposes or social events when I either have to help facilitate or have no choice but to talk to people but I find myself really tired when I have too many of such events in a row. Definitely need to recharge every now and then by quite literally having no contact with anyone.

7. What would your dream habitat be like?

My dream habitat would be far away from civilisation, some place with clean and fresh air. I would honestly love any place blessed with the frequent sound of heavy rain and doesn’t come with mosquitos. Rain always cools things down and makes me feel relaxed, helps me sleep, makes me feel safe for some reason.

8. Do you play/have an interest in any sports? If not, are there any specific sports you’d like to try?

I really enjoyed kendo with MUKEN and wish I could have kept going but I’m so unfit now I’m quite afraid to even try anything XD

9. One thing on your bucket list.

Get married, have kids, have fun as I go along. Is that ambitious enough?

10. Besides English, are there any other languages/dialects you’ve learnt/are fluent in? If not, what other languages would you like to learn?

English, Chinese, Japanese, I can understand some Hokkien but not enough to hold a conversation. I always wanted to learn Italian because it seems pretty. Ridiculous as this may be, I wanted to learn Czech for a while because my Great-great-great-grandmother was from Czechoslovakia. A passing thought was to learn Hebrew so that I could read the original Old Testament text so hopefully I’ll be convicted enough to do that some day.

11. Why do you blog

I’m quite an emo person and as whiny as I end up sounding most of the time, it helps me feel a little better getting it out there even if it doesn’t make sense yet. Penning down my thoughts helps me to think better and sometimes helps me realise how stupid I’m being – yes there have been worse things than what I’ve posted. Bet you thought I was already crazy enough didn’t you?

Jokes aside, I hope someday I can look through what I once wrote and believe that I’ve grown somewhat and become a better person. Someone with less problems or a least better able to handle my emotions and reactions to things.

2 thoughts on “A Liebster Award!?

    1. Oh that was MG? I remember vaguely going for some thing which sold little fluff ball monsters like the ones from Spirited Away but couldn’t remember where…maybe that was with my family I have no idea lol

Leave a Reply

